This week I saw the theme/challenge selected was “decay” and was meant to showcase things that are old, abandoned or dilapidated.

It had me stumped. Usually, don’t we all only save the things that are pretty and sparkly? I searched through my past photos and found some which I thought best matched the theme. Hope you will enjoy it.

Barbed Wire on a Rundown Wall: I recall this photo was taken when I first explored using my camera. At the time, I was fascinated and took photos of practically everything I came across. Of course, that meant that I had lots of useless photos, but I felt this one was atmospheric and captured the feeling of the harshness of society. Although it was actually taken in the middle of a bustling city like Hong Kong 香港, but there were still places (and people) who would be overlooked by society.

Cracked Path: Like a man running out of options, the path ahead was barren and desolate. The cracks signalled a tough future, but the only way was forward.

A Place Called Home? Once again, this photo was taken in the city centre of Hong Kong 香港 so I was surprised at the time that such abandoned buildings existed in such a land scarce city. I wondered whether someone lived inside, hiding from the cruelties of life and struggling to eek out a living.

Tunnel of Books: To be honest, I totally forgot where this was or whether it was a tunnel or a circular room. You might ask, how does this fit into the theme? Well, physical books have been gradually replaced by electronic media. Just like how things from the older generation tend to be gradually abandoned. Although honestly, sometimes I enjoy my good old-fashioned physical books too.


Comments

3 responses to “Monochrome Madness #05: Decay”

  1. Glad you were able to find some images for this theme, they look great. That tunnel of books is incredible.

    1. Thanks a lot. It was a tricky one for me but glad I found something suitable. I didn’t even remember that I had that photo. Glad someone liked it too.

  2. That tunnel is way cool, and our reasoning spot on. Thanks for playing! 🙂

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Discover more from Xerith's Photography Journey

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading